Project 365 — Snooted portrait


It’s time for the second photo in Project 365 and I hope you’ve enjoyed the first one! Today we’ll be featuring a snooted portrait which should be more exciting then the one yesterday — I promised you it would be a lot fancier!

Brother snooted

Exposure: 1/30 sec at f/4.0 focal length 24mm ISO 200 Off camera flash at 1/8

 

I asked my brother to model for me and he willingly accepted. I used a very simple setup, I used my strobe and created a snoot for it out of paper and tape. It wasn’t the most sophisticated snoot, I used a couple of white paper sheets, rolled it up and attached it to my flash (an image of the snoot can be found at the bottom of the page).

Idea

What I tried to achieve was a dramatic looking image with some specific highlights and I went for the eyes in this case. The reason I used a snoot was to highlight the eyes to give them extra attention. In post process I also gave the eyes a color boost!

Setup

The set up was easy, I positioned my brother at the table, dimmed the light for a more dramatic look, placed the snoot front left of my camera and aimed the snoot at my brothers eyes as you can see in the image. I made quite a lot of test shoots so the highlights covered a small part of his right side and centered around the eyes. Thankfully we have dSLRs so we can review our image on the LCD screen on the back of our cameras!

Post process

I did quite some post processing in order to create the image. I toned down most of the colors and reduced the exposure slightly (not even half a stop). After that I open up the image in Photoshop and used the technique that I have featured here before. The post can be found here.

I also added a Hue/saturation layed and boosted the eyes a little bit and I added a curves layer in order to reduce some of the light from the flash. Later on I realised I should have done that in Lightroom when the image was still RAW.

Conclussion

I’m pretty much satisfied with the outcome of the image. The idea that I went for came out pretty well. I never used a snoot before so that was a whole new experience for me and I’m definitely going to try to use it more often to creat some awesome effects.

That was all for post #2 and I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did making it. My brother and I had a good laugh while pulling dodgy faces! Anywho, stay tuned for #3 tomorrow!

The snoot

    • Joey
    • November 18th, 2009

    Happy to pose for you ‘bro. Nice result!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

